5
December 18, 2006 - 1:01 p.m.

Day 5: Patrick

Now that the baking is done and the refrigerator and freezer crammed full of goodies, tonight�s tasks include doing the laundry that didn�t get done over the weekend and hosing down the kitchen. Then I�ll do the chocolate dipped pretzels and maybe the peanut brittle. I�m afraid the latter could be quite messy. Anyone ever tried making peanut brittle before? If so, I welcome your tips and advice.

My so-so assessment of this year�s new cookie recipe means I have no new recipes to post, but the easy fudge recipe is in my Recipes link. (Not sure if you like peanut butter, Zen.)

In my post-baking haste, I neglected to mention the outcome of the highlight of our office party, the Yankee Swap. I�m sure this goes by other names, but it�s one of those gift swaps where you buy a gift, but unlike Secret Santa, you aren�t buying for a particular person. Anyone could end up with the gift you purchase (gag or traditional gifts allowed). Names are pulled from a hat, and each person opens the gift of his/her choosing OR takes a gift that already has been unwrapped. If you open a gift, and it subsequently is taken from you, you get to choose another gift, etc. Usually, one or two items become the center of a vicious circle. This year, we had several people coveting a set of colorful martini glasses.

I had my eye on the Hallmark Very Merry Trio � the snowman and the penguins � which was so much cuter than in the television ad. One of the penguins shakes his jingle-belled tail! Come on! I snagged it from Tiffany (without remorse, because she annoys the hell out of me), even though I knew Sandy would take it from me, which she did. What we didn�t expect, however, was the last person called, Patrick, to take it from Sandy. Patrick wanted it for his wife and daughter. So, I ended up with another Hallmark item, an ornament, which is fine, since I have quite a few of these. I correctly deduced that it was from Linda, because it�s from the particular series that she collects. I don�t have any from the series, but it is cute � an Eskimo and a husky puppy making s�mores over a campfire. Thanks, Linda.

My contribution, an American Idol microphone-shaped shower radio (heh), wound up in Steve�s hands. Oh, well, his daughters will like it. And I know Steve will enjoy the dark chocolate truffles that I included in the gift bag. Happy Hanukkah.

We had a raffle, too, and I scored a $50 Macy�s gift card. Yea, me! Origins counter, here I come!

And, when I came in this morning, guess what was on my desk? A Very Merry Trio! Patrick, knowing Sandy and I both wanted it, was both guilty and generous enough to go out over the weekend and buy one for each of us. Thank you!

On the subject of Patrick, I must point out that towards the end of the party, he approached me and asked who was responsible for organizing the party. I told him Linda was in charge, and he promptly went over and thanked her for her effort. Astounding, because I cannot imagine any of the other attorneys doing such a thing. They just take it all for granted, as if it just magically happened, like a Christmas miracle or something.

Thanks again, Patrick, for your graciousness and generosity.

Autumn

Stuck in my head : �Beside You in Time� � Nine Inch Nails


back ... forth



Trick or Treat - November 02, 2007
Autumn Has Left the Building - July 19, 2007
The Nail - June 04, 2007
Ungolding - June 01, 2007
Bollocks - May 29, 2007























+ current
+ older
+ profile
+ cast
+ recipes
+ guestmap
+ design
+ host