8 and 9
December 22, 2006 - 2:48 p.m.

Days 8 and 9: Wrapped

I missed the midnight cutoff for posting last night. I did, however, finish wrapping my gifts shortly after midnight. Minus the bows, of course. With the furry trio, ribbons and bows become cat toys in no time flat. Instead, packages get the final touch shortly before distribution. I did the wrapping on the family room floor. The television was on, and there were more than a few ads for stores having big final three days sales. Hahaha. It made me feel good to be home wrapping instead of out with the panicky people rummaging through the picked over stuff.

Tonight is the bowling league party. Yeah, good times. A couple of buffet tables are set out for this potluck affair, and there are five dollar cash prizes if your pins set up with a colored headpin AND you get a strike on it. That�s all it takes for bowlers to call it a party. Much to Lala�s consternation (back when we were teammates), I quickly develop some good bowling skills when there�s a colored headpin and always manage to snag one of those Lincolns. He thinks if I can do it for a paltry five dollars, I should be able to do it more often, for, you know, the team standings. Nope. It�s all about the money, honey.

My contribution to the potluck? At Lisa�s and Dana�s insistence, I bring a tray of chocolate-dipped pretzels. I made them on Tuesday and Wednesday, 100 in all, and half are for the bowlers. I�m bringing a cookie tray, too. They�re in the trunk of the punchbuggy, staying all chill. Good thing, too. If we had yet another of those unseasonably warm, fifty degree days as we�ve been having lately, my pretzels would be all melty. Current temperature: 41 degrees.

I may be the only female at the alley tonight not wearing a Christmas sweater or red shirt, but I bet I�ll be the only one wearing a bowling pins, ball, and holly pin. What a find! I bought it at an antique store near Mom�s house. It�s small, too, only about 1� inches, so it�s not super gaudy. Only bowling gaudy. But I had to do it. If I win five dollars tonight, it�s more than paid for.

Autumn

Stuck in my head : �Mele Kalikimaka� � The Blue Hawaiians (Thanks for the musical card, Mom.)


back ... forth



Trick or Treat - November 02, 2007
Autumn Has Left the Building - July 19, 2007
The Nail - June 04, 2007
Ungolding - June 01, 2007
Bollocks - May 29, 2007























+ current
+ older
+ profile
+ cast
+ recipes
+ guestmap
+ design
+ host