The Cult of Me
February 23, 2006 - 4:09 p.m.

It seems that I�m always the last one on board with these things:

You scored as Cultural Creative. Cultural Creatives are probably the newest group to enter this realm. You are a modern thinker who tends to shy away from organized religion but still feels as if there is something greater than ourselves. You are very spiritual, even if you are not religious. Life has a meaning outside of the rational.

Cultural Creative

94%

Existentialist

56%

Materialist

50%

Romanticist

50%

Idealist

44%

Postmodernist

44%

Modernist

38%

Fundamentalist

38%

What is Your World View? (updated)
created with QuizFarm.com

Allow me to elaborate.

Both of my parents were raised as Catholics. By the time I was a pre-teen, I could tell that Mom had unofficially left the church. Dad, while still considering himself Catholic, didn�t care whether we attended mass or not. As for me, there was two (or was it three?) years of catechism and a smattering of church exposure, and I never really �got� it. When some of my friends were preparing to make Confirmation, I asked Mom why I no longer had to go to Sunday school. She replied that I didn�t seem interested and she didn�t want to force it on me beyond simply exposing me to Catholicism. That was fine by me, and I let it go at that.

For years, I would never admit it to anyone, but I always doubted the existence of God � at least in the sense that it was presented to me at church and Sunday school. With so many religions and everyone believing his/her own religion was the �right� one, who could be sure if any were right? I thought it very well could be an outdated belief system, much like Greek and Roman mythology. In those times, it certainly wasn�t referred to as mythology. The Greeks and the Romans believed in the existence of their gods and goddesses and that they existed among them. Now, we study mythology in English class like it�s The Canterbury Tales. Thousands of years from now, will the Bible and the Torah be studied similarly? Surely, you can see why I was reluctant to voice my questions and opinions.

And despite all that questioning, I still believe there is something, some force, greater than us, greater than life.

In my teens, I questioned Mom about her increasingly vocal disapproval of the Catholic church. She, like so many, finds the church�s views to be outdated. She expressed a disapproval of organized religion in general � too many wars fought over religion. Hardly the foundations of peace and Christianity and all that good stuff, right? But, she said, she believed in some sort of creator. Why?

Flowers.

Mom said that when she looked at all the beauty and variety and amazing colors of flowers, she thought it couldn�t just happen on its own accord. There had to be something more.

Since that time, whenever I�ve felt a bit agnostic, I think of flowers, and I agree with Mom. But I have put a spin on it and I question further: Is it the flowers themselves, for their beauty and color, or is it us, for our ability to see that beauty?

Anyway, flowers.

Autumn


back ... forth



Trick or Treat - November 02, 2007
Autumn Has Left the Building - July 19, 2007
The Nail - June 04, 2007
Ungolding - June 01, 2007
Bollocks - May 29, 2007























+ current
+ older
+ profile
+ cast
+ recipes
+ guestmap
+ design
+ host