Bela Lugosi Is Dead
April 24, 2006 - 4:01 p.m.

Okay, I don�t know how I could have done this, but apparently I purchased my Nine Inch Nails tickets in such haste that I didn�t bother to notice the opening band. Or perhaps it wasn�t posted at the time. Yeah, that must have been the case.

Yes. I�m going to see Nine Inch Nails. Again. What can I say? I like to go to at least one concert every summer. I heart outdoor concerts. I heart lawn seats. Not just because they�re cheaper, but also because I like to be free to roam about, even if it means being farther from the stage. On the occasions where I�ve had assigned seats, I inevitably am adjacent to pushing, shoving jackasses, people who insist on standing up and/or dancing despite their inability to do so without repeatedly falling onto me, or undesirables in general. And my 5�2� self always seems to be seated behind an NBA team. With no escape. Please, just give me those faraway lawn seats, with some fresh air and room to dance about, and I�ll watch the concert on the jumbotron screens with much less aggravation. But I digress.

Well, just when I�m thinking about how OTHER PEOPLE might consider me too old for such antics, the choice of OPENING ACT proves otherwise.

BAUHAUS!

Oh, my freakin� Dog.

From what I can determine, it�s REUNITED Bauhaus, not REFORMED Bauhaus with a different singer or without Daniel Ash or something that would make them not really Bauhaus.

Yes, Bauhaus. Not Love and Rockets, not the fleeting Tones on Tail. This looks like the real deal: Peter Murphy, Daniel Ash, David J, and Kevin Haskins. I�m so DELIRIOUSLY happy. Considering they haven�t recorded together in 20+ years, I never dreamed I�d ever see them in concert. Yippee Yahoo!!!

Alright, bring it down a notch, lady.

Yeah, yeah. In the spirit of acknowledging the passage of time and avoiding the risk of appearing overly age INappropriate, I will refrain from the black jacket (leather in winter only), boots, and black tulle tutu over ripped jeans ensemble from long ago. Not that I don�t still have it�

You mean, not that those jeans still fit.

There was some question whether Tim would accompany me, but that question is laughable now. I don�t know which of us is more excited. Okay, Tim, probably, but he�ll be a guy and keep it all inside. I, on the other hand, could dance on air, science and talent permitting.

By the way, Tool is making a Boston appearance. Sixty dollars. Ugh. Plus the aggravation of Boston. I think not. Instead, I remain one very happy camper with my $24 ticket to Nine Inch Nails and Bauhaus.

Bauhaus!

Bela Lugosi Is Dead!

(happy dance)

Autumn


back ... forth



Trick or Treat - November 02, 2007
Autumn Has Left the Building - July 19, 2007
The Nail - June 04, 2007
Ungolding - June 01, 2007
Bollocks - May 29, 2007























+ current
+ older
+ profile
+ cast
+ recipes
+ guestmap
+ design
+ host