Niece Day
April 21, 2006 - 11:47 a.m.

I�m not sure, but I think Take Your Daughter to Work Day might have been earlier this week. The Devil used to partake but hasn�t for the past few years. Just as well; it was a joke really. There was no shadowing, which I thought was supposed to be the point of the whole thing. Instead, the Devil planned field trips and activities, all designed to make the Devil look good while keeping the young�uns from disturbing the BFBs or keeping the staff from work, work, working. Tell me, what does a child learn about his/her parent�s job at a law firm when the day consists of visits to a courthouse (particularly useless if parent isn�t in the Litigation Department) and law library, followed by a group lunch and make-your-own-sundae social?

What if the child subsequently has to make a presentation to his/her class? �My [mother/father] works at a law firm. Everyone gets to have ice cream after lunch. Someday I want to work at a law firm. The End.�

So I suppose yesterday could have been called Stay at Home with Your Niece Day, �cause that�s what I did. A couple of months ago, the lovely Emma expressed an interest in card making. (I guess she likes the ones I�ve made for her.) I told her we could set aside a day during her spring vacation. Yesterday was that day.

The timing was perfect, with next month being Mother�s Day and Jackie�s birthday. We made a few cards in the morning � Emma was a bit overwhelmed at all the STUFF I had; good thing I held back on showing her everything � before breaking for lunch. The weather was gorgeous (70 and sunny) so we took our grilled cheese sandwiches (with a side of baby carrots � gotta keep it healthy!) outside. We made a couple more cards before Tim showed up. Emma showed off her handiwork (Damn! I forgot to take a picture!), and we had some lemon chiffon cake (leftover from Easter) topped with fresh berries.

How�s that for an awesome day?

If only I could devise a way to make this into some sort of highly profitable (yet not terribly time-consuming) vocation�

Oh, well. I asked Emma if she was going to make birthday cards for all her friends now, and she told me she already does. I do recall seeing some homemade cards at her last birthday party, the drawings and stickers on plain paper kind. One even had a lollipop taped to it. Cute!

My friends and I didn�t do this as kids, but it makes so much sense. The girls love making them and take the time to admire each other�s work, and the parents get to save money on overpriced greeting cards in stores. Some cards are over three dollars now � what a ripoff! Doesn�t it make more sense to put that money towards the gift?

I can�t wait to get that creative niece of mine into scrapbooking. Perhaps for Stay at Home with Your Niece Day 2007.

Autumn


back ... forth



Trick or Treat - November 02, 2007
Autumn Has Left the Building - July 19, 2007
The Nail - June 04, 2007
Ungolding - June 01, 2007
Bollocks - May 29, 2007























+ current
+ older
+ profile
+ cast
+ recipes
+ guestmap
+ design
+ host