Weekend Wrap-Up
August 07, 2006 - 2:50 p.m.

A nice, calm weekend.

Friday night was a trip to MalWart. Some of the most minor of home improvements can be the most rewarding. I purchased a new ironing board cover for a mere 94� and three ice cube trays at $1.49 per. Both purchases were long overdue.

Now I am enjoying big solid cubes of ice from uncracked trays that don�t leak and make little ice rivers all over the freezer. I am also enjoying ironing on a board that doesn�t have an ugly 1970s paisley butterflies motif cover with an elasticized border that has aged and crumbled, sometimes leaving small bits of rubber crumbles atop the board to be run over by an unsuspecting ironer who is subsequently annoyed by the melted rubber stuck to her iron. Drawstrings rule.

Yes, I�m living like a queen now, what with the good ice and fancy i�nin� board and all.

* * * * *

Saturday night was Poker with the Girls (Jeannie, Leah, Lauren). Lauren and I decided to make it a belated birthday (Jeannie) and get well (Leah) celebration. I bought a small chocolate cake (too hot to turn on the oven!) and managed to fit �Happy Birthday Jeannie ~ Get Well Leah� on it. (I like playing with icing and decorator tips; someday I�ll take that cake decorating class.)

Leah Update: Leah was discharged from the hospital the day after she was readmitted. Her condition improved on its own, so she wasn�t given antibiotics. That same day, the recipient (ex�s brother, J) was readmitted. Leah�s donated kidney was doing only part of its job � something about potassium levels being off. J came home a couple of days later and is doing fine. Leah is joking that she must have donated her coffee gene, too. Since the surgery, Leah, who drinks a couple of those mega sized coffees (the ones that hold, like, a pot each) every day, hasn�t had a taste for coffee. On the other hand, J, who previously drank coffee once in a while, is now drinking it daily and proclaiming how GREAT it tastes. I think, in time, Leah will regain her appetite for coffee. After Mom�s ordeal last year, it was a month or more before she had a taste for tea, and she�s usually good for six or seven cups a day.

America�s Funniest Home Videos Moment: Jeannie got up to close the blinds behind her. She pulled the cord, and the blinds fell out of the window and crashed to the floor. Lauren, Leah, and I couldn�t help but laugh our heads off as Jeannie stood there, still holding the cord, with an �oh, fuck� look on her face.

And why was she closing the blinds in the first place? Because once upon a time, some nosy neighbor of hers called the cops on us. Yeah, someone called the cops to come break up the big gambling ring. Needless to say, when the officer showed up and saw four women playing cards at a table strewn with nickels, no drugs, not even any alcohol, no action was taken.

SO THERE, YA BIG NOSY NOSEBAG.

I even managed to come home a winner, a rarity indeed. I�m usually the one who gets cleaned out, but Saturday I left a whooping $7.80 richer. In nickels.

* * * * *

Yesterday I went to Mom�s house. Clearly, she is the source of my warped-ness. She�s funny even when she�s not trying:

Mom, quoted: �What�s going on with Tom Cruise? Is he supposed to be gay now?�

Also, Mom is one of those people who likes to sing. Instead of �whistle while you work,� Mom sings. She has a habit, too, of changing the words to make it p/funny. Yesterday�s was a doozy: �Oy Vey, Maria.�

Available for hire for all your Catholic-Jewish weddings and event planning needs.

* * * * *

And, for my sleepy, ditsy Monday morning:

I remembered to bring a bagel for lunch but forgot the cream cheese.

I brought my sunglasses but not my umbrella and got caught downtown in a morning rain shower.

I took a second to spritz on some gardenia cologne, but I forgot to brush my teeth. (Luckily, I have a toothbrush and toothpaste at work.)

Still feeling good about the ice cubes and ironing board, though.

Autumn

Stuck in my head : �Jambi� � Tool


back ... forth



Trick or Treat - November 02, 2007
Autumn Has Left the Building - July 19, 2007
The Nail - June 04, 2007
Ungolding - June 01, 2007
Bollocks - May 29, 2007























+ current
+ older
+ profile
+ cast
+ recipes
+ guestmap
+ design
+ host