Unfinished Business
October 24, 2006 - 3:48 p.m.

First, about that health issue. Diabetes, as in The Threat Of. High Risk, or should I say, Higher Risk. Yeah, Dad, thank you and your whole fucking side of the family for those genes. Dammit. So, the rest of those twenty pounds that I didn�t lose over the summer just FELL OFF last week. Scared straight and frayed nerves. It�s funny how quickly those sugar cravings disappear like a dick in ice water. Yeah, I have a choice to make, but I think it�s a no-brainer: chocolate or life? Okay, I may be overstating the issue, but I DON�T WANT DIABETES. I don�t want insulin shots, I don�t want dialysis, I don�t want poor vision, I don�t want anything amputated, and I don�t want to die young. Got it?

Scared, confused, angry, and FIGHTING BACK.

* * * * *

Moving on to some bowling news.

1. Remember how I said it appeared that Melinda had no new body art this year? Well, I was wrong. Silly me. She has another tattoo. This one is on her shoulder � a tropical sunset-palm tree-beach scene. It�s about five inches long and three or four inches high. Too big for a shoulder, I�d say.

And I noticed Skank Thing has a dark sunburst on her shoulder. No surprise. She probably has another tattoo of a big arrow pointing from her navel down to her crotch with the words �DO ME HERE.� She�s all class like that.

You know, the more I see tattoos, the more I realize I don�t like them. They�re nasty. Really, I�ve never seen one that I found to be attractive. And, excepting expensive laser removal, they�re so PERMANENT. I can�t make that kind of commitment. Seriously, what tattoo would I want today that I would still want when I�m 80 (assuming I can escape The Threat of Diabetes for that long)? It�s like being told you have to wear the same earrings every day for the rest of your life. Who wouldn�t get sick of that?

2. Lala showed up last week, seemingly for the purpose of hanging out with me post-bowling. Just when I thought it was safe�. I�ve been enjoying the calm emotional waters for the past year without him. I haven�t missed him. I�ve gotten over him. I�m happy.

Nevertheless, I did hang out with him. Apparently, I�ve gotten past the anger, too. Like, he�s who he is, and that�s not for me. So be it.

And a strange thing happened. Some of the things he said or didn�t say or did or didn�t do in the past that pissed me off � he did the reverse last week. As if he were going out of his way to be nice to me. I don�t mean Horny Nice. Gentlemanly Nice. He even said something nice about a cat.

The bastard.

He�s up to something. I figure he�s either (a) looking for a second chance even though I told Mack I�d never allow it, or (b) testing me to see how I act around him because he�s interested in rejoining the league but doesn�t want to do so if there�s too much tension. (I�ve suspected his absence from the league for the past year had something to do with Skank Thing or me � or both of us.)

Whatever. Time will tell. I�m past my anger, but I haven�t forgotten what it was that angered me in the first place.

Autumn

Stuck in my head : �Gravity� � A Perfect Circle


back ... forth



Trick or Treat - November 02, 2007
Autumn Has Left the Building - July 19, 2007
The Nail - June 04, 2007
Ungolding - June 01, 2007
Bollocks - May 29, 2007























+ current
+ older
+ profile
+ cast
+ recipes
+ guestmap
+ design
+ host