1
December 14, 2006 - 10:53 a.m.

Once again, I am going to attempt to post daily for the twelve days leading to Christmas. As always, no promises.

Day 1: Bad Kitty(ies)

I came home from work yesterday to find my yet to be decorated Christmas tree, in its stand, lying on the living room floor. I suppose I should be thankful that it wasn�t decorated, so no ornaments were destroyed.

I stood the tree up in its stand but noticed that it was a bit wobbly. A slight bump would send it toppling in the same direction. I got down on the floor and examined the stand. Yup, it was cracked. Damn! I slathered on some Gorilla Glue. It seemed more stable, but that stuff is supposed to take 24 (?) hours to set up, and I didn�t want to take the tree out of the stand or leave the whole thing lying down for that long. In fact, the plan had been to decorate the tree last night. So I anchored the tree. I�ve heard of people doing this, but it was a first for me. I tied it to the handle of a tall wicker chest.

Already, I had decided to blame this one on Rory. He was the most perturbed the prior evening when the erection of the tree in front of the window meant the removal of his loveseat perch from which to view the outside world. He tried to look out the window from the wicker chest, but it wasn�t as good as the loveseat, and he was not pleased. I figure he tried to use the tree as a perch sometime during the day. Also, he is far more energetic than P.J. or Sam and, at a strapping twelve and one-half pounds, has the power to take down innocent tannenbaums.

That was setback number one. The second came after dinner when I commenced the trimming of the tied tree. Three strings of clear lights, but only two strings that worked. By this time, I had already changed into my jammies and was too settled in to trek out to the store to buy another string of lights. Double damn!

I put up the two working strings and then the popcorn and cranberry garland that I had strung over the weekend. I suspected I would need more garland, perhaps one more long strand, but, no, I needed two more. I spent much of the evening stringing popcorn, popcorn, cranberry, repeat until I had enough to fully adorn the tree.

On the way to work this morning, I picked up another string of lights. Let�s hope the tree is standing when I get home � and remains standing after all my precious little ornaments are on it.

No more bad kitties!

Autumn

Stuck in my head : �Santa, Baby�


back ... forth



Trick or Treat - November 02, 2007
Autumn Has Left the Building - July 19, 2007
The Nail - June 04, 2007
Ungolding - June 01, 2007
Bollocks - May 29, 2007























+ current
+ older
+ profile
+ cast
+ recipes
+ guestmap
+ design
+ host