2
December 15, 2006 - 3:41 p.m.

Day 2: The Right Direction

The anchored tree was in its upright position when I came home last night. Yea! It is now completely decorated. Let�s see which of the ornaments the felines will bat off today. Oh, yeah, and like any cat household�s tree, the lowest tier of branches have no ornaments dangling from them.

My handmade cards went in today�s mail. Photo to follow.

Tonight is our office party. This is not to be confused with the firm party, a black tie affair held in Boston, which most of us staffers have not bothered to attend for the past two years. They go all out, but it�s a pain in the ass drive, and then there�s the suckiness of not being able to fully partake in the open bar because of said pain in the ass drive back home. Also, it inevitably seems to either rain or snow on party night, making the commute � not to mention the done-up party hair � a mess. The prize goes to the year I drove up with Sandy, and just as we approached the parking lot of the party venue, I nailed a pothole chasm that I mistook for a mere puddle and wound up with a flat tire. Do not think that I, looking lovely in my full-length ball gown and strappy high heels, got out in the ice and snow and jacked up my car. That�s what AAA is for. Nonetheless, the irony was pronounced.

No, tonight is OFFICE party. Held here, at the OFFICE. Not much of budget to go on. If we wanted to go out somewhere for the party, then we�d have to pay for our drinks and settle for hors d�oeuvres instead of a catered dinner. We choose full bellies and free drinks over festive ambience, although I must admit my peers did a decent job of decorating the board room. I should have thought to bring in some CDs. I think some Nine Inch Nails on the surround sound system would liven the usual Christmas fare. Geez, they don�t even have the Charlie Brown Christmas soundtrack, and mine is on cassette.

I�m buying the CD for next year.

Weekend goal: Six batches of cookies in two days. Baking, not eating!!!

Autumn

Stuck in my head : �Level� � The Raconteurs


back ... forth



Trick or Treat - November 02, 2007
Autumn Has Left the Building - July 19, 2007
The Nail - June 04, 2007
Ungolding - June 01, 2007
Bollocks - May 29, 2007























+ current
+ older
+ profile
+ cast
+ recipes
+ guestmap
+ design
+ host