Return to the Daily Grind / Cat Report
March 09, 2006 - 10:43 a.m.

I�m back! Alive and well! I didn�t drown in the ocean or the pool or the hot tub, nor was I swept away in Thursday�s snowstorm. (The Cape, by the way, had about eight inches of snowfall, as compared with only five or six inches at home.)

We did lots of shopping, antiquing, and dining out. Each night, I swam laps in the pool, which I had all to myself during our visit. Lap swimming has to be the most relaxing form of exercise there is. I used to do it faithfully at the Y, but alas my present work commute does not conform to the Y�s schedule. Pisser. Someday, someday�. There was a nice whirlpool tub in our room, but it didn�t compare to the hot tub in the pool area. Yup, I had that all to myself, too. Sure, I know all that chlorine and hot water does a number on skin and hair, but it was sooo worth it. That�s why god created moisturizer, right?

I also learned that my current tolerance level for round-the-clock Mom is approximately 2� days. No big battles or anything like that; it just takes that long for the differences in our personalities to wear on us. Nothing a little time, space, and lap swimming couldn�t fix � that, and knowing I�d soon be blissfully home alone.

We returned on Friday in plenty of time for me to go bowling. I did much better than the previous week � 130-89-109 (328) � and our team extended our first place lead such that we are assured our placement regardless of this week�s outcome. From four-way tie for first, to two-way tie, to first place outright, and now this � we�re on a roll. I hope I didn�t just jinx us. Damn.

Saturday was Caitlin�s (Jeannie�s daughter) birthday party. I must remember to find an excuse out of Caitlin�s and Jeremy�s future birthday celebrations. Too many loud little cousins. Loud little cousins all trying to be heard at the same time. Aspirin, please!

On Sunday, I met Tim and Emma and her friend, Becca, at the downtown skating rink. Tim wanted me to demonstrate a spin and a jump for the young novices. We skated around a few times, got off, and asked for our money back. They had no business being open that day, much less collecting money. The sun was shining brightly and the ice was way too soft in the mild weather. One end of the rink was so bad that our skates sunk in about a half-inch deep into the slush/slop/soft ice. It was more like walking in sand than ice skating. So much for open air skating. Tim made some calls and found a nearby indoor rink that had public skating underway. Emma and Becca did quite well, I thought, for only their second time skating. I was able to show them a simple scratch spin and a waltz jump. (Yeah, I kind of wimped out on the jump, deciding against a Salchow and instead opting for the measly half-revolution waltz. If only I were twelve again!)

CAT REPORT

Lastly, about Tim. I asked him to look in on the flock of cats (two�s company, three�s a flock) while I was at the Cape. Usually I ask Jeannie, but I thought I�d give her a break this time. Knowing I�d be gone from Tuesday morning to sometime on Friday, I left the kitties with two bowls of water, two BIG bowls of crunchy stuff (like that television commercial for who-knows-what), and a box full of clean litter. I asked Tim to stop by on Thursday (he passes through my town on his way home from work) and even told him not to bother with the litter box (much to Princess P.J.�s dismay, I�m sure).

I came home to two bone-dry water bowls and about ten pieces of crunchy stuff between the two food bowls. P.J. was giving me the Death Glare, while parched Rory set to licking the snow off my boots. I replenished the bowls, and P.J. drank for about fifteen minutes straight.

What the fuck?! Tim totally forgot?!

Or did he think it was the following week? Or could he not find the key I stashed outside, or did Thursday�s snow inconvenience him? And if so, why didn�t he call me so I could lead him to the key or make other arrangements (Jeannie)? Surely, he didn�t think I wouldn�t have my phone with me.

Then, I considered giving him the benefit of the doubt (something I�m not always particularly good at). Maybe something happened. Jackie�s father is going through radiation treatments again� .

I called Tim and asked if everything was okay.

�Yeah, why?�

I mentioned the cats (you know, the cats who need food and water to survive), and Tim said he came on Wednesday, in anticipation of Thursday�s storm.

I let it go at that.

However, if he had been at the house just 48 hours prior, why was most of the food gone, too? They have two cats; he certainly should know how much food to leave out. Come to think of it, the water shouldn�t have been totally depleted in that timeframe either. Just a couple of weeks ago (Presidents� Day weekend), I visited Olivia. I left the same 2/2 array of bowls, and when I returned two days later, there was a sufficient amount of cat provisions remaining.

Tres suspicious, no?

Next, I retrieved the key I had stashed outside. I told Tim the key would be in some sort of container in the largest pot by the back door. To be more specific, I put the key in a small Ziploc bag, zipped it, slid the key into the corner of the bag, tightly wrapped the bag around the key, put it in a small clay pot, wrapped the pot in a plastic shopping bag, stuffing the loose ends into the pot, placed the small pot into a much larger clay pot, and refilled the large pot with the dead oak leaves that had blown into it. So when I went to get the key, guess how I found it?

Exactly the same way as I had left it (except with Thursday�s snow on top).

(A) Incredibly thoughtful brother who, despite not knowing how much food and water cats consume even though he has two of his own, replaced my key in precisely the same manner as I had left it, or (B) big fat liar? You decide.

Needless to say, Tim is relieved from all future kitty caretaking duties. Dipshit.

Autumn


back ... forth



Trick or Treat - November 02, 2007
Autumn Has Left the Building - July 19, 2007
The Nail - June 04, 2007
Ungolding - June 01, 2007
Bollocks - May 29, 2007























+ current
+ older
+ profile
+ cast
+ recipes
+ guestmap
+ design
+ host