Tool (9-29-06)
October 03, 2006 - 11:08 a.m.

First of all, let me say that any concert that begins with a song titled �Stinkfist� has to be good. So Very Good.

Twenty thousand people, the starlit sky, and Tool. How�s that for some fucking awesome ambience?

I was accompanied by coworker Tina, who continues to cross over to the dark side (she joined us for Nine Inch Nails) yet remains a Fanilow. We hit the road just before 5:00. Early, but we were combating rush hour traffic and trying to beat the logjam of a sold-out show. I didn�t want to get stuck like we did going to Radiohead a few years back. We arrived just before 6:00, ate our packed sandwiches, and sipped beer (me) and wine (Tina). Sipped, because I�m so not using those portajohns. We chatted with (and dummy me had to borrow a bottle opener from) the surrounding tailgaters, a ninety percent or so male population. Yeah, that was even more skewed that I expected.

Neither Tina nor I cared to see the opening band, Isis, but eventually we decided to down another beer/glass of wine, go in early, make a pit stop, look at the overpriced T-shirts, and go directly to our seats. DO NOT STOP AT THE BEER VENDOR. DO NOT PAY $7.50 FOR A SHITTY DRAFT.

Isis. Honestly, never heard of �em. They didn�t take the stage until 8:00, so I figured (correctly) it would be only a 30-minute set. Isis wasn�t bad, but I won�t be running out to get their CD(s). I will say, though, that they were an appropriate opener for Tool, and I don�t think a lot of bands could fit that bill.

Once again, the weather gods kept us rain-free. (Apparently, weather gods like NIN and Tool.) It was a tad nippy, but I was fine with it (as was my ripply hair). Better a tad nippy than a tad humid. Pre-Tool, I curled up in my seat with my lined windbreaker covering me. I didn�t want to actually wear it until I was certain that I would not be taking it off. You see, white flannel lining does bad things to a black jersey. I donned the windbreaker just before Tool took the stage.

Maynard was engaging.

�Jesus fucking christ, it�s cold!

�The only way I�m going to be able to stay warm is if I have a lot of premarital sex.� (big cheers from crowd) �But not with you, sir � or you, sir. Go back to your seats.�

Maynard performed from the only slightly elevated drum platform. No screens, wigs, makeup, or back to the audience this time around. Drummer Danny Carey was set up on one side of the platform, and Maynard did his thing on the other side. He sang in his customary kokopelli pose and switched back and forth from Mohawk Maynard Kokopelli to Cowboy Maynard Bronco Bucking. (Sounds like new yoga positions. Downward Maynard Dog?)

Some of the set flow was a little awkward in my opinion, but only because Tool is more an album-oriented band, so constructing a good set list presents something of a challenge. Of course, �Lost Keys� flowed into �Rosetta Stoned,� and ditto for �Wings for Marie� and �10,000 Days.� That was to be expected. However, despite what I just said about set flow, all four back-to-back might have been a bit much. I�m just saying, guys.

The first half of the altered version of �Schism� didn�t totally work for me, either. Maynard�s vocal delivery seemed slightly out of synch. The super speeded up bridge, however, was truly amazing, thanks to Danny�s MAD CRAZY drumming (more mad crazy than usual), and the rest of the song was all good, including the vocals. Hell, I would LOVE to have a live recording of this one. That bridge was un-fucking-believable. Danny Carey is the �nads!

Those are the only weensy negative things I have to say. The rest of the concert was heavenly.

After hearing �10,000 Days� live, I have a greater appreciation for the song. I was absolutely entranced for the 15+/- minute duration. Yes, Maynard, I will drink the Kool-Aid. (Or your Caduceus label wine. Whatever.)

The band broke after �10,000 Days� (really, what could have followed that?), but rather than disappear backstage, they just convened at the edge of the drum platform and sat and chilled for a while, watching the audience go all lighters and chair drumming for their encore.

Tina: We don�t see this side of you at work.

Me: Well, it�s not like Tool is doing regular gigs in the board room.

Set list, to my best recollection:

Stinkfist
The Pot
Forty Six and Two
Jambi
Schism
Lost Keys
Rosetta Stoned
Wings for Marie
10,000 Days
Lateralus
Vicarious
Aenema

Yes, twelve songs sounds skimpy, but keep in mind that the Under Seven-Minute Song is a rarity in Tool�s catalog. Live, many of the songs were even longer. In fact, Tool was on stage for close to two hours.

Non-Maynard Quote of the Evening (from yours truly): Upon exiting the parking lot, the car with the Maine plates directly ahead of us decided at the last possible second to merge into the left lane. So we had to stop. And wait. And the car in the left lane stopped. And waited. And still, Maine sat there, not moving, with its directional light blinking. Everyone else was stopped. And waiting, waiting.

WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR � A FUCKING CANDYGRAM?!

My window was down. Left lane car�s window was down, too, and I heard much laughter.

Lastly, lesson learned: Don�t, in a fit of excitement, go online two days before the concert and track down the set lists from recent shows. It�s like peeking at your Christmas gifts.

Autumn

Stuck in my head : �Rosetta Stoned� � Tool


back ... forth



Trick or Treat - November 02, 2007
Autumn Has Left the Building - July 19, 2007
The Nail - June 04, 2007
Ungolding - June 01, 2007
Bollocks - May 29, 2007























+ current
+ older
+ profile
+ cast
+ recipes
+ guestmap
+ design
+ host