Tool for Beginners
October 05, 2006 - 4:17 p.m.

Ummm, I have to admit I always thought that Tool was a band for angry dudes � just supposing I don't know shite about them, where�s a good place to start?

Thanks for asking, Betti.

I�ve chosen to respond right here, because I so enjoy waxing semi-eloquent on the subject.

It has been only for the past few years that I�ve been digging Tool. It stemmed from my love of Maynard James Keenan�s other band, A Perfect Circle. Yes, I know this is kind of a backwards route to take, but since I�m SO out of Tool�s demographics (except that I am Caucasian), I guess I get to do things my way.

As for A Perfect Circle, the first single from their first CD didn�t wow me. It was the subsequent �Three Libras� that I fell in love with. I purchased the CD (Mer de Noms) and devoured the rich sounds. The follow-up, Thirteenth Step, is perhaps even more �listener-friendly.� I mention this because if you try out some Tool and still find them to be too �band for angry dudes,� APC might be the way to go.

Prior to APC, Tool was a take it or leave it band for me. Then, around the same time I was eating up APC, Tool�s �Schism� really grew on me. I purchased Lateralus , their most recent release at the time, and found that I already knew (and liked!) several of the songs. So I continued in reverse chronology and purchased Aenima. Dug that, too. This year, I purchased 10,000 Days shortly after its release, as I was already enthralled with �Vicarious.� Awesome CD. I really wouldn�t classify it as angry dude music.

Sometimes I think I must hear music differently from most people. Certain songs seem to penetrate not just my ears, but every pore in my body, and this applies to much of Tool�s catalog. The artful, complex construction of the songs and Maynard�s rich vocals and passionate delivery (whether a primal scream or a soothing whisper) are aural beauty, to this listener. It�s not just anger for anger�s sake. Sometimes it�s not anger at all: �Celebrate this chance to be alive and breathing� (�Parabola�). Remember, not all passions are anger. Don�t let the creepy videos or aggressive delivery fool you. And remember that the lyrics often have metaphorical meaning.

Of course, if some twenty-something ex-frat boy wants to hear nothing but fury and brutality, well, that�s his freedom of choice. Or self-imposed lack thereof.

Undertow and Opiate will be in my CD collection soon enough, I�m sure.

Did I babble and confuse? Sorry.

I suggest trying Lateralus and/or 10,000 Days. Alternatively, check out APC (Mer de Noms and Thirteenth Step ).

Happy listening. Let me know what you think. Don�t hold back.

Autumn

Stuck in my head : �Orestes� � A Perfect Circle


back ... forth



Trick or Treat - November 02, 2007
Autumn Has Left the Building - July 19, 2007
The Nail - June 04, 2007
Ungolding - June 01, 2007
Bollocks - May 29, 2007























+ current
+ older
+ profile
+ cast
+ recipes
+ guestmap
+ design
+ host