Bugs � It�s What�s for Breakfast
October 12, 2006 - 12:11 p.m.

I was awakened this morning by the sound of cats shuffling about. In the early morning light, I could make out two feline silhouettes looking upward and trying to get on High Things (bad!). I listened but heard no noise, so I turned on the lamp on the nightstand.

There was a moth high up on the wall, near the ceiling. A big, giant moth. Dang. I didn�t want to get out of bed to kill it, but I knew the cats (P.J. and Rory, I see, now that the light is on) would not give up pursuit of their prey, meaning no sleep for me.

I grabbed Rory off the headboard just as he was about to attempt to climb the curtains. At the same time, the moth moved down a bit, and Rory leapt to the nightstand and swatted Big Moth to the floor. Amazingly, none of my crap on the nightstand was disturbed.

From my bed, I watched as P.J. tried to get in on the action, but Rory seemed to have things under control. Big Moth�s wings were fluttering, but he was incapable of flight. Rory continued pawing and nipping, and Big Moth eventually made its way under the bed. Rory was confused, but P.J. reached under the bed skirt and got that sucker out.

And then P.J. ate Big Moth.

This is why they don�t have cats on �Fear Factor.� Eat live bugs? No problem! Doesn�t make for suspenseful viewing, though. Of course, anything involving water would make up for it. Send those kitty contestants into hiding for days on end.

Anyway, cool for me. No more moth, and I didn�t have to get out of bed. I turned off the lamp and rolled over.

Not thirty seconds later, the alarm went off.

I know there will be some cat puke to clean up when I get home.

Autumn


back ... forth



Trick or Treat - November 02, 2007
Autumn Has Left the Building - July 19, 2007
The Nail - June 04, 2007
Ungolding - June 01, 2007
Bollocks - May 29, 2007























+ current
+ older
+ profile
+ cast
+ recipes
+ guestmap
+ design
+ host